~.~ a gray day in locket meadow ~.~


some of my best memories with my husband are the times spent outdoors.  last fall, around the time of a usual four-wheeling trip, we instead spent a rainy day in lockett meadow near the san francisco peaks of flagstaff, arizona.  we hiked along one of the many trails, finding various flowery beauties or green treasures begging to be photographed.  while much of the afternoon was spent tucking my coveted camera inside my sweatshirt to avoid the occasional downpour, i still dreaded leaving the aspens & mountain air.  it was as if we’d escaped our daily commitments & obligations for one magical afternoon, evermore slowing our steps towards the truck & further, the return trip home to phoenix.

here are just a few of my favorite snapshots from that day.

enjoy.

